2016 Award Winners

Chairman's Award

Blackstone Valley Tourism Council

Block Island Tourism Council

Discover Newport

Providence Tourism Council

Providence Warwick Convention & Visitors Bureau

South County Tourism Council

Warwick Tourism, Culture and Development Department

President's Award

Frank T. Galleshaw, III, Wright’s Farm Restaurant

Hotelier of the Year

Robert Burnetti, Hotel Viking Newport

Restaurateur of the Year

David Lahousse, The Lodge Pub & Eatery and Kay’s Restaurant

Vendor of the Year


Vendor Representatives of the Year

Paul Fitzpatrick, Performance Food Group

Joseph Gaudreau, Sysco Boston

Volunteer of the Year

George McAuliffe, Mews Tavern

Chef of the Year

Matthew Varga, Gracie’s

Mary Brennan Tourism Award

Eric Weiner, Food Trucks In Management

Hospitality Ambassador of the Year

The Honorable Lauren Carson

The Honorable William A. Walaska

Lifetime Achievement Award

Vincenzo Iemma, Capriccio

Media Partnership Award

Providence Business News

Woman of the Year

Tracy Rabar, Avenue N American Kitchen

Man of the Year

Norman LeBlanc, Kahn, Litwin, Renza & Co.

Excellence in Sustainability Award

Nick’s on Broadway


Tallulah on Thames

Employees of the Year


Amy Buzzell, Hilton Garden Inn Providence

Elizabeth Gonzalez, Hilton Providence

Ramona Pena, Hilton Providence

Belkis Wilson, Hilton Providence

Andrea Fumia, Hotel Viking Newport

Selina Kardel, Hotel Viking Newport

Juan Pleitez, Hotel Viking Newport

Leslie Burns , Omni Providence Hotel

Antonio Lopes, Omni Providence Hotel

Jennifer McDaniel, Omni Providence Hotel

Carlos Moscoso, Omni Providence Hotel

Everton Gaskin, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Ines Monteiro, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Jorge Rodriguez, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Larry Tunstal, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Ingrid Marroquin, Providence Marriott Downtown

Jessica Sananikone, Providence Marriott Downtown

Florencio Vargas, Providence Marriott Downtown

Walter Baker, Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Wilfredo Vargas Garcia, Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Courtney Maleakas, Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Mike Carrier, Residence Inn by Marriott Warwick

Megan Bell, The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence - Downtown

Bob Carmody, The Hampton Inn & Suites Providence - Downtown

Robert Adamo, The Hampton Inn and Suites Providence - Warwick Airport

Ana Rebeca Esquivel, The Hampton Inn and Suites Providence - Warwick Airport

Michaek Lehn, The Hampton Inn and Suites Providence - Warwick Airport

Adam Rodi, The Hampton Inn and Suites Providence - Warwick Airport


Marena Bitar, Angelo's Palaca Pizza

Jordyn Cruise, Angelo's Palaca Pizza

Marco Morales, Angelo's Palaca Pizza

Roberto Avarista, Café Nuovo

Lori Rodger, Chelo's Hometown Bar & Grille- Corporate Offices

Danielle Anthony, Fred & Steve's Steakhouse

Gaetano Izzo Jr., Fred & Steve's Steakhouse

Freddie Rodriguez, Fred & Steve's Steakhouse

Brian Shottek, Fred & Steve's Steakhouse

Debbie Craft, Gregg's Restaurants and Taverns

Tom Dupre, Gregg's Restaurants and Taverns

Carl Priestly, Gregg's Restaurants and Taverns

Raymond "Skip" Vanasee, Gregg's Restaurants and Taverns

Ryan Daw, Harry's Bar and Burger

Amy Elliott, Howley Bread Group, Ltd, a Franchisee of Panera, LLC

Dorverdra Garrett, Howley Bread Group, Ltd, a Franchisee of Panera, LLC

Tammi Lonergan, Howley Bread Group, Ltd, a Franchisee of Panera, LLC

Safa Mansoor, Howley Bread Group, Ltd, a Franchisee of Panera, LLC

Robin Thibeault, Howley Bread Group, Ltd, a Franchisee of Panera, LLC

Greg Coccio, Avvio Restaurant

James Lane Buckley, Hemenway's Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Jeff Farley, Siena Restaurant Group

Karen Robinson, Siena Restaurant Group

Balina Rosario, Siena Restaurant Group

Julio Vargas, Siena Restaurant Group

Ryan Mancini, Twin Oaks Restaurant

Daniel Cardosa, Twin River Casino

John Gomes, Twin River Casino

Chris Burt, Wicked Good Bar & Grill

Ricky Oldrid, Wicked Good Bar & Grill


Jay Lynch, ECOLAB

Louie Toulis, Omni Providence Hotel – Valet Department

Chris Magboo, Regency Plaza


Kerri Handrigan, Champlin’s Galilee

Jeff Desaults, Fred & Steve’s Steakhouse

Allison Lamoureux, Shipyard and Blackstone Bar


Kevin Duffney, Pranzi Catering & Events

Kevin Barros, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Emerging Leaders Under 30

Nicole Christie, Hemenway’s Seafood Grill & Oyster Bar

Rachel Mossbrook, Hilton Providence

Corey Livingstone, Omni Providence Hotel

Crystal Papino, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Nate Williams, Siena Restaurant Group

Lindsay Houle, The Dorrance


Patricia Smurro, Discover Newport

John Gibbons, Providence Warwick Convention & Visitor's Bureau

Cynthia O'Malley, The Preservation Society of Newport County

Derek McGurn, Twin River Casino

Jason Vincellette, Twin River Casino

RI Hospitality Education Foundation Award Winners

Chairman's Award

Victoria Gailliard-Garrick, William M. Davies, Jr. Career & Technical High School

Teacher of the Year

Steven Kalble, Newport Area Career & Technical Center

Education Partnership of the Year

RI Department of Health, Center for Food Protection

Education Ambassador of the Year

Scott R. Jensen, RI Department of Labor & Training