2018 Award Winners

Chairman's Award

Colin Geoffroy, G Hospitality

President's Award

James P. McCarvill, RI Convention Center Authority

Hotelier of the Year

Burnell L. Goldman, Omni Providence Hotel

Restaurateur of the Year

Angela Armenise, Blackie's Bull Dog Tavern

Pinnacle Award

John J. Elkhay, Chow Fun Food Group

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tom Desmond, Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant

Vendor of the Year


Vendor Representatives of the Year

Bob Proia, Gordon Food Service

Shannon Lagarto, Ecolab

Volunteer of the Year

Jennifer L. Jansen, Fleming's Prime Steakhouse Wine & Bar

Hotel Chef of the Year

Franco Paterno, Providence Marriott Downtown

Restaurant Chef of the Year

Steven Trabucco, Gregg's Restaurants and Taverns

Mary Brennan Tourism Award

Stephanie P. Fortunato, Department of Arts, Culture + Tourism, City of Providence

Media Partnership Award

Thomas V. Ward, The Valley Breeze

Woman of the Year

Trudy Coxe, The Preservation Society of Newport County

Man of the Year

Al Zannella, Rhode Island Distributing

Hospitality Ambassador of the Year

The Honorable Mayor Donald R. Grebien, City of Pawtucket

Mike Whatley, National Restaurant Association

The Honorable Alex D. Marszalkowski, Rhode Island House of Representatives

Sue AnderBois, State of Rhode Island

Employees of the Year


Angela Cepeda, Fairfield Inn and Suites

Matthew Wood, Fairfield Inn and Suites

Marleny "Magaly" Rodriguez, Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina

John Allan, Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina

Kenneth Blake, Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Warwick Airport

Beverly Graham, Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Warwick Airport

Tyler Leclaire, Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Warwick Airport

Greg Nawrocki, Hotel Providence

Melissa Cicilline, SpaFjor Hotel Viking

Dana Oliveira, Hotel Viking

Deborah L. Logler, Marriott Newport

Flor Pleitez, Marriott Newport

Ray Schneider, Marriott Newport

Randi Paola, NYLO Providence Warwick

Laurie A Hobbs, Ocean House Management Collection

John Faria, Omni Providence Hotel

Antonia Oliveira, Omni Providence Hotel

Wendy Segura, Omni Providence Hotel

Erik Berlied, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Charlie Brown Jr., Providence Biltmore Hotel

Susan LaLime-Mort, Providence Marriott Downtown

Emily Sproul, Renaissance Providence and Fairfield Inn & Suites

Robin A. Zukowski, Renaissance Providene Hotel

Jennifer L. Dutton, The Hilton Garden Inn Providene Airport Warwick

Peter Mari, The Hilton Garden Inn Providene Airport Warwick

Kimberly Rojas, The Hilton Garden Inn Providene Airport Warwick


Armando Silva, Angelo's Palace Pizza

Abdiel Suarez, Angelo's Palace Pizza

Kristen Theroux, Angelo's Palace Pizza

Cassandra , Antonio's Pizza by the Slice

Jose Alvarado, Antonio's Pizza by the Slice

Kristen Destremps, Bravo, LLC

Jason Deletesky, Chelo's Hometown Bar & Grille

Janice Hemond, Chelo's Hometown Bar & Grille

Edward Alvarez, Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Alex Padova, Providence Gpub

Joe Stracuzzi, Rooftop at the Providence G

Rob Freeborn, Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina

Kristen Newcomer, Harry's Bar & Burger

Emilie Warnet, Hemenway's Restaurant Seafood Grille & Oyster Bar

Jamie Bisbomb, Ten Prime Steak & Sushi

Daryl Pacheco, T's Restaurant

Donna Sweeney, T's Restaurant

Decontee Brooks, Twin River Casino Hotel

Lena Freeman, Twin River Casino Hotel

Lauren Rooney, Twin River Casino Hotel

Antonio Galvao, Xaco Taco


Tracey Donahue Henebury, Performance Food Group

Kenny Arnold, Regency Plaza


Christina Mercado, Grace Vanderbilt Hotel

Dave Laramee, Avvio Ristorante

Nathan Renzi, Avvio Ristorante


Deb Lee, Blackstone Caterers

Emerging Leader

Briahna L. Henry, Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar

Wetherley Hundley, Knead Doughnuts

Anthony J. Boi, Castle Hill Inn

Joseph Parker, Newport Restaurant Group

Bailey Fowler, Providence Biltmore Hotel

Lachen T. Chernyha, Rhode Island Public Expenditure Council

Sosothabna Ngin, The Dean Hotel

Meghan O'Neil, The Preservation Society of Newport County

Tanya C. Santos, VMTCS Group/Galito Restaurant


Megan Moran, Block Island Ferry

Alex Hurd, CMP, Discover Newport

Natalie Manning, Discover Newport

Lindsay Chapin, Newport Hospitality, Inc. a DMC Network Company

Cori L. McWilliams, Newport Hospitality, Inc. a DMC Network Company

Samantha L. Rodrigues, Newport Hospitality, Inc. a DMC Network Company

Jonathan Neis, Providence Warwick CVB

Rachel E. Costa, RI Convention Center

Kendall Julius, RI Convention Center

Raymond P. Roy,The Preservation Society of Newport

Daniel Parmentier, Twin River Casino

RI Hospitality Education Foundation Award Winners

Chairman's Award

Heather R. Singleton, RI Hospitality Association and RI Hospitality Education Foundation

Teacher of the Year

Bill Walker, East Providence Career & Technical Center

Education Partnership of the Year

Newport Restaurant Group

Education Ambassador of the Year

Ray J. McCue, Johnson & Wales University

Student of the Year

Cameron Vicente, Cranston Area Career & Technical Center